Lost several comments, so I removed Commentluv and IntenseDebate. I was able to restore some of the missing comments, but couldn't find all of them. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Saturday, April 25, 2015

My Book Haul 4/25/17

My Book Haul 4/25/17 | Alexia's Books and Such

In need of a new way to showcase titles, I decided that My Book Haul seems like a good fit. I like giving books a little special attention as sometimes it can be awhile before I'm able to review them. Sad to say, but some get put on the shelf and gather a little dust before I'm able to give them the love they deserve. I've included links to Goodreads if you want more information.


NetGalley/Edelweiss:

I don't usually request books from Edelweiss as I'm more comfortable with NetGalley, but couldn't bring myself to wait until July to read the next Elemental Assassins book by Jennifer Estep! Gin is one of my favorite characters, and what a great cover! Can't wait to see what happens!

Spider's Trap by Jennifer Estep
Spider's Trap by Jennifer Estep

The next thrilling book in Jennifer Estep’s New York Times and USA Today bestselling Elemental Assassin series -“an extraordinary series… One of the most intriguing heroines in the genre” (Romantic Times Book Reviews).

***

NetGalley keeps reeling me in with tempting emails! This one sounded too intriguing to pass up, so looking forward to discovering what exactly is going on!

Alive by Scott Sigler
Alive by Scott Sigler

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.



What did you receive this week?


Friday, April 24, 2015

Buzz Books 2015: Spring/Summer

Buzz Books 2015:  Spring/SummerTitle:  Buzz Books 2015: Spring?Summer
Author:  various
Release Date:  January 23, 2015
Publisher:  Publishers Lunch
Source:  NetGalley

Our sixth Buzz Books edition evokes all the excitement of Winter Institute with substantial pre-publication excerpts from nearly 40 adult titles. Enjoy access to the newest voices the publishing industry is broadcasting for the upcoming season as you discover breakout books from established authors, sparkling debuts from soon-to-become literary stars, and fascinating memoirs and inspirational nonfiction. (Goodreads)

My Review:

Really enjoy these samplers as they introduce me to authors I probably never would have found on my own! While I'm more of an Urban Fantasy and YA reader, there were several samples in this collection that left me wanting more! Here are a few of my favorites:

The Dog Master by W. Bruce Cameron - A story about an injured she-wolf trying to protect her newborn pups and a lone human who decides to help her. The story hooked me the minute we heard from the she-wolf's point of view!

A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley - Sara has always felt a bit of an outsider, partly because she has Asperger's Syndrome. I liked her immediately, and was intrigued by the idea of an encrypted diary from an exiled Jacobite in France.

The Children's Crusade by Ann Packer - This isn't my usual type of read at all, but something about the story drew me in and left me wanting to learn more about this family.

The Hand That Feeds You by A.J. Rich - Not really into mysteries or thrillers lately, but there are dogs involved and I want to know more! For instance, are the dogs guilty or innocent bystanders? And what's up with Morgan's mysterious fiance?

Dietland by Sarai Walker - Plum is a large woman who has basically put her life on hold because of her weight. Convinced that her "real" life will start after she loses weight, she schedules surgery and starts buying clothes for her new & improved self. Then she notices someone following her, and her life takes an unexpected turn. Sounds intriguing, doesn't it?


Have you read this sampler yet? Which titles are you most looking forward to?

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

What do you do when a book you're reading is just....meh?

What do you do when a book you're reading is just....meh? Keep reading or put it down and move on?

What do you do when a book is just... meh? You don't hate it, but you don't love it either. But, and this is a big but, there's just something about it that keeps you reading. 

Whether you want to find out if it lives up to its promise or you've become invested in the characters or for some other reason, you're just not ready to put it on the DNF pile just yet. How do you handle this?

Read a book not that long ago that fell into the Meh category. The writing wasn't bad , the premise was intriguing, and the characters were fully developed, but there was just something about it that didn't click with me and I had to struggle to finish the book. Honestly, there was nothing wrong with the story that I could put my finger on, we were just incompatible. 

Why did I keep reading? Partly because it wasn't bad enough to add to the DNF pile, partly because I wanted to see how everything turned out. But it took me weeks to read instead of the usual day or two. 

To be honest, I thought about putting it down and starting another book, with the intention of coming back to Mr. Meh later. But I know me. If I put a book down, odds are that I'm not going to pick it up again no matter what promises I make.

Curious how others handle this type of read. So please tell me, how do you handle Meh books?

Monday, April 20, 2015

Cold Burn of Magic book review

Cold Burn of Magic book review. This is a great start to a new Jennifer Estep series! | Alexia's Books and Such Title:  Cold Burn of Magic
Author:  Jennifer Estep
Release Date:  April 28, 2015
Publisher:  Kensington
Source:  NetGalley

There Be Monsters Here. . .

It's not as great as you'd think, living in a tourist town that's known as "the most magical place in America." Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I've got my mom's bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend's pawn shop, and I have to make a call--get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn't. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I'm stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I'm going to end up just like her. . . (Goodreads)

My Review:

Cold Burn of Magic is a great start to a new Jennifer Estep series! Jennifer is one of my favorite authors and she never disappoints, no matter what the genre!

Living in a town billed as the most magical place in America sounds lovely, but not when the monsters are real and think you'd make a nice main course! Love the idea of actual monsters hiding under the bridges and in the alleyways of town!

The main character, Lila, is doing her best to survive after her mother is killed. And how cool that she's living in the basement of a library! Sure it's squatting, but she's living in a library!

Taking odd jobs as a thief and pick-pocketing gullible tourists helps keep her head above water, but she's also careful to avoid unwanted attention. The last thing Lila needs is Child Services sniffing around!

Her mother's old friend Mo looks out for her the best he can, but he's not exactly the parental sort. In fact, it's in his pawn shop that Lila's life turns upside down.

An unwilling witness to an assassination ambush, Lila is determined to stay out of things. Feuds between the families are none of her business and the last thing she wants is to bring any attention to herself. But there's just something about the target and, despite her reservations, Lila steps in. And her life would never be the same....

Cold Burn of Magic has a great premise, with interesting characters and lots of action. Really love that the ruling families were like the Mob, only with magic! I think that the author has another hit on her hands and I'm already looking forward to the next book!

Copyright © alexia561.blogspot.com 2009-2015 - All Rights Reserved *graphics courtesy of Google Images, Travel Mania header courtesy of Blogtemplate4u